The Care Act (2014)


The Care Act (2014) is one of the most up to date pieces of legislation that promotes and protects the rights of at risk adults and individuals accessing Health and Social Care Services. It represents the major changes that have happened in Britain’s care and support systems in more than 60 years, putting people and their carers in control of their care and support.

The six principles of the Care Act are:

  1. Empowerment.
  2. Protection.
  3. Prevention.
  4. Proportionality.
  5. Partnership.
  6. Accountability.

easy readClick HERE for an easy read summary

Click for HERE Hammersmith and Fulham’s Care Act Summary Leaflet 



The Mental Capacity Act (2005)

The Mental Capacity Act (2005)  affects
people in England and Wales.

The Act affects peoplemental capacity act 2005 who are 16 years or older.

It also protects people who cannot make their own decisions about some things, for example people with learning disabilities or mental health problems.

This is called “lacking capacity”

The Act tells people:

  • what to do to help someone make their own
    decisions about something
  • how to work out if someone can make their own
    decisions about something
  • what to do if someone cannot make decisions
    about something sometimes

easy readClick HERE for an easy read guide to the Mencap Capacity Act

Think Autism (2014)

The Think Autism strategy (2014) builds on rather than replaces the themes in Fulfilling and Rewarding Lives (2010).

Think Autism sets out a programme of action the Department of Health and other government departments will take to improve the lives of autistic people. 

It relation to our work at HF Mencap, we work alongside local authorities and NHS bodies to:

  • Raise awareness and make sure that more people understand autism
  • empower young people and adults with autism to choose how they live and get the help that they need to do this